May 2, 2014

Posted by Shanell Calloway in Uncategorized | Comments Off on Penalties of an OVI Charge

Penalties of an OVI Charge

In the state of Ohio, an OVI charge is operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. It’s the same charge as a DUI in other states. Officers use a variety of field sobriety tests to determine if a driver is possible under the influence. You can be charged with an OVI even if you’re pulled over for something as simple as speeding or failing to yield. If an officer suspects that you’re under the influence, he or she can request that you take a field sobriety test. There are numerous penalties for an OVI charge, and it’s always a¬†good idea to hire an OVI lawyer in Cincinnati, Ohio before fighting the charges in court.

License Suspension and Fines

Two common penalties are license suspensions and fines. If you don’t agree to take a field sobriety test, specifically the Breathalyzer, your license will automatically be suspended. If it’s your first offense, the state will suspend your license for one year, your second offense for two years, and your third offense for three years. Following your third offense, you risk losing your license permanently. If you took the sobriety test and go to court, you can lose your license anywhere from 6 months to 3 years. An OVI lawyer in Cincinnati, Ohio can help you reduce your penalties, so always refer to an attorney before fighting any charges.

Fines are also based on the number of times you’ve been charged with an OVI. The average fine for a first offense is a few hundred dollars. After that fines can reach in the thousands of dollars, extending all the way up to $10,000.

Jail Time

Jail time is always an option when faced with an OVI charge. With an OVI lawyer, Cincinnati, Ohio defendants can work to prevent jail time by offering alternative solutions and negotiating with the judge. Some defendants spend a few days in jail while others are sentenced for a few months up to one year in jail. Then number of offenses can affect the length of jail time, and repeat offenders are at a greater risk of being sentenced to serve time.

Interlock Ignition Device

Repeat offenders may also have to use an interlock ignition device, or IID. This device fits onto the dash or steering column and the driver must blow into the device before the engine will start. If the device recognizes that the driver has an above limit alcohol level the engine will not start. This penalty is often reserved for people who are on their third or fourth offense with an OVI charge.

To learn more about finding a good OVI lawyer in Cincinnati, Ohio, visit

 

Share

    Pin It on Pinterest

    Shares
    Share This